Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

in recent years, people have had the tendency of throwing away food purchased from shops and restaurants due to the low cost of this good. personally, I think that it is important to take this problem into account in order to minimise the number of leftovers. it is worth mentioning that the price of food products becomes much cheaper these days. the availability and development of technology have facilitated the productivity of crop harvests significantly, so food is accessible to everyone, even those living in impoverished nations. as a result, people are inclined to have a false belief in food production, which is both cheap and unlimited. this would enable people to buy excessive amounts of food without a real need which is likely to result in a huge number of leftovers. for example, in viet nam, the amount of thrown away food has dramatically increased since 2019 thanks to people's unawareness of their need for food consumption. multiple solutions should be taken to lessen the effects of this issue. firstly, governments and local councils need to impose some strict rules on the consumption of food. only in this way, can people raise their awareness of the importance of food. for instance, in 2020, the government in Vietnam decided to punish anybody disposing of edible food that was effective in reducing the huge number of leftovers around the country. furthermore, social platforms should be used to encourage people to purchase food in an appropriate way, as they are easily affected by social media posts, especially celebrities. in conclusion, it seems that the problem of thrown-away food has become more serious recently, so it is essential to come up with some solutions to mitigate its negative impacts. in the future, it is predicted that this issue will be reduced remarkably due to our present effort.