In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In our modern life, the majority of individuals in several nations are researching their family origins. There are several reasons why this direction is happening. From my point of view, there are some positive and negative effects on humans, particularly adolescents and I believe it is a negative movement. On the one hand, there are some reasons why community are interested in learning about their family past. The first obvious reason is that these population are only interested in who their ancestors were and what role they played in society. For example, it might be interesting to know that a person's grandfather was once a member of the royal family. Such information can make public proud of their origins. In addition, many society research their family past because this activity can serve medical purposes, and if their offspring have the sickness they can learn about the syndrome in this way and try to prevent such illness. For example, they are aware of any stroke inherited from their relatives. Therefore many human beings desire to research their family past. On the other hand, I argue that this movement is negative for some reasons. First of all, this tendency can be considered a waste of time and money, especially for young nation, because it has no significant benefits other than health care. I think they are better off focusing their resources on more important things like improving their social skills such as educational skills and physical skills. Second of all, information about family past can harm their attitude to life. For example, a person of noble birth may become arrogant, while a person descended from a criminal may become ashamed and lose confidence. In conclusion, learning about one's background is becoming commonplace in society, and in my opinion, this is a negative development.