Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is observed that with the development of the Internet, online learning is becoming more and more common. Many universities in the world provide online courses for students can easily access and study. While this trend has some drawbacks, it is a positive development overall. The main disadvantage of online university courses is the quality. There are concerns about the quality of online courses, particularly with regard to the standard of teaching and pupils' output quality. As we can see in the COVID-19 pandemic, everybody was forced to learn at home through zoom calls. During this time, many students did not focus on their lessons, instead they slept or played video games. Moreover, many students cheated on exams as online tests were much easier for fraud. These hinder teachers from assessing their pupils. Due to that, many students still have a qualification after finishing the course although they did not learn anything. Despite the negatives mentioned above, I believe that online university courses are a positive development for various reasons. Firstly, online courses make education more accessible for people who can not attend the lecture on campus because of financial, geographical, or personal reasons. For example, my aunt who is 45 years old, recently took an undergraduate course on business in a different country. She can still take care of her children and have a MBA degree. Secondly, online courses can provide the flexibility for students to study on their own schedule. Pupils can choose the time that suits them to balance their academics and work. Finally, online courses are more cost-effective than traditional, since it do not require as many facilities, staffs and equipments as studying directly on campus. In conclusion, although there are some problems in Internet-based learning, I believed that there are far more benefits.