Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this? What can be done about this?

In the modern era, we are living in a society where we hardly talk to the person living next door. Our generation has occupied themselves with many tasks which leads to the crunch of time. With a lesser amount of time, we don’t find interacting with our neighbours useful and hence ended up ignoring them. However, we should try to connect with the community in our neighbourhood. In this essay, I will discuss why it is important to connect with them. Nowadays everyone is stepping out of their house to earn money. Couples are trying to balance their personal and professional life. With the time constraint and professional struggles, their family is their only priority. Certainly, they have to understand the importance of their neighbours. For instance, three years back when we were not at home. There was a fire at our home and our dog was inside the house. Since we were having good terms with Mr John who lived next door, he called us to inform us about the situation. At that particular moment, we came back and somehow managed to save our dog. This is one of the many reasons, we should be in contact with them. Additionally, our kids will follow the same trend of not talking to society them around. It is difficult for them to go outside the house, make new friends and play with them. For example, Smith who is a single child whose parents do not talk to neighbours is finding it difficult to make friends to play with. Also, during the difficult moment of Covid society helped with medicines, groceries and food for the home's isolated patients. Therefore, it is always good to have a friendly neighbourhood. To conclude, I understand the fact that we are concerned about our family members and cannot trust anyone from our surroundings. But we also have to understand we cannot be with our loved ones always. Thus, getting familiar with the population in the neighbourhood is very important.