Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

In this contemporary era, many companies do not understand the concept of personal boundaries. Many managers want the authority to contact their staff members at any time even on their off too. In my opinion, this development has more disadvantages. In this essay, we will discuss the advantages and disadvantages in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence, the benefit of contacting team members is to keep the workflow efficient. To elaborate, superiors can connect with staff members if any mishaps happen at work which can only be dealt with with the help of particular people. It also ensures that the employer can trust his workers in times of emergency. For example, in hospitals doctors can be called at any time if any patient is in a critical condition. Hence, the above example vividly illustrates the pros of contacting employees even during their off. However, there are certain shortcomings of this approach such as the employees might get frustrated and it could also ruin their professional relationships. To explicate, workers can get frustrated when their professional life interferes with their personal life as they are entitled to holidays which are disturbed by constant work calls. Furthermore, a person could have resentment towards their employer as they do not draw a boundary between their staff’s personal and professional life which could affect their relationship negatively. To exemplify, an engineer could get agitated due to constant calls from their manager if their machinery stops working. Thus, the aforementioned reason substantiates the drawbacks of this development. To recapitulate, the pro of contacting members during their holiday is to ensure that the work flows smoothly and the staff can be trusted in case of any emergencies. On the flip side, the negative aspects of this development are the workers can get frustrated due to interference in their private time which would also affect their professional relationships. In my opinion, the disadvantages are more as nobody would like that their holidays should be ruined by any work calls.