Parent, usually mothers, give up work, choose to stay home and look after families. Some people think the government should give them salary, others disagree. Discuss both and give your opinion?

Since the beginning of time, mothers were seen as a person to nurture and look afte a child when they are born. Recently, with the changing culture and the views from the public, mothers started to pursue their careers and wanted equal opportunities to other parents from the government instead of staying at home and look after their families. In this essay, I will review both views and provide concluding remarks. To start with, in some instances mothers of new born children are forced to give up their work and stay home due to financial reasons. It has become very expensive to raise children due to childcare costs and other challenges such as time and travel. As a result of that, a lot more support is expected from the government that should provide either free childcare or incentives for businesses to provide salaries for longer than 9 months after child's birth. On the other hand, with the recent challenges across the globe such as Covid 19 pandemic, the governments had to shift their focus to investing millions of pounds into healthcare systems to protect and provide to citizens of their countries. Thus, there has been a change of spending which resulted in reduction of money spent for young families. It is argued, that for the governments it is not profitable and efficient to give salary to raise children as the businesses lack of taxes being paid. To sum up, governments all across the world faced signifcant challenges over the last few years and it has adversely affected public spending focusing on parents with new born children. I strongly suggest that despite all those reasons, there should be more emphasis and support provided to mothers and fathers in order for sustainable growth of it's citizens.