Many men and women are making the decisions to have children later in life. Why is this trend occurring? What are the impact of this development on both family and society? Give reasons for your answer and include examples

These days we are witnessing a growing number of adults choose to delay childbirth until later in life. While there are several drivers of this trend, the impacts on family and society are complex and multifaceted. People advocating for delayed parenthood have a number of reasons. Firstly, the rising costs of living put an economic strain on households, thus marriage partners opt to prioritize maintaining their standard of living over having babies, as they worry about the staggering child-raising costs, such as hygiene expenses, babysitting and education costs. For women, their growing reluctance to parenthood partially rests on their career pursuits as they start to realize their competitiveness in the workplace and aim for economic independence. Lastly, thanks to medical advancements and longer life expectancies, people do not need to obey the traditional expectation of having children before the age of 30. In my view, I think the impacts on individuals and society are complicated. On the one hand, with more focus on education and career development at their golden ages, adults are better equipped to make contributions to the workforce, which benefit the economy. In addition, women are freed up from the traditional gender roles that limit their potential. On the other hand, delayed childbirth can lead to health complications for older mothers given their physical state is incomparable to younger ones. Also, if the proportion of marriage partners who opt for delayed parenthood keeps increasing, the workforce will decline and hinder the country’s long-run prosperity. In conclusion, the trend towards delayed childbearing is a complex issue that requires careful consideration of its potential impact on families and society.