Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should be required to follow strict rules set by their parents. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Do not use memorized examples.

Most children in the world do not like the strict rules set by their parents. Personally, I believe that strict rules are essential while growing up. There are several reasons why I feel this way, which I will explore in the following essay. To begin with, all parents have by far more life experience than any child on the world. This life experience leads to rules they set for their kids, in order to become the best version of themselves. The most important thing to notice is that all parents are always behaving in the best interest for their children. This is something most teenagers do not realise and therefore often feel handled in a wrong way. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was 15 years old, my grades in high school were pretty bad. After multiple tries of my father, supporting me in a non-harmful and pleasant way, he gave up and had to use harder methods. He took my Playstation away for one whole month. I was devastated and did not understand how this could help me. But this strict behavior helped me ultimately a lot. Since then the rule was, If I am performing well in school I get to keep my PlayStation. If not, I will not. This was still something I was upset about but led to good grades in school, which I did not care about at that time, but today, I am glad that my father implemented those strict rules, because the grades helped me later to get into college. Another way to prove that strict rules are a good idea, would be to assume that they do not exist. If a parent would decide to not set clear boundaries, this would lead to chaos. This is because most kids or teenagers are definetely not able to deal with responsibility. They are simply to young for some decisions. Yet again, my personal experience proves this point. My parents are divorced as a background information. While I had to hand over my smartphone to my father every night before sleep, my mother let me keep it inside the room. Consequently, the result was always that I got more sleep when I stayed at my dad’s house, compared to my mothers. This is because I was celarly too young to deal with the responsibility given by my mother. In conclusion, I believe that strict rules are the right way to deal with children. This is because of the lack of life experience and responsibility of young people.