Today, many people do not know their neighbours. Why is this? What can be done about this?

In these days, many individuals do not acquaint each other although both of them live in the same vicinity. This case has become common because people do not have time to contact each other in comparison to the past and they have become more introvert and selfish. To ratify this case, some meeting events and excursions can be held. The cause of this situation correlated with expanding work shifts. Most people cannot find opportunity to meet and visit their neighbours because they come back their home at late times and they need to rest. At the weekends, they opt to share their moments with their relatives and close friends. Thus, even though they intend to meet their neighbours, they cannot due to their priorities. The second reason of this case is their altered behaviours which have been valid in recent years. By the technological developments, many individuals, particularly new generation have become more introvert than the past time. They do not need to have a contact with their neighbours. In addition, some of them are more selfish and they do not want share their time interests. These manners may be derived from their less trustfulness behaviour due to some issues in their past. Therefore, they do not meet and spend time with their neighbours. To reverse these situations to positive, elder residents at the neighbourhood can arrange some meetings, events or parties in order to gather people. This can provide positive impact to distrustful neighbours and they feel gratified to others. Besides, some excursions can be held at the weekends. Old residents have a crucial role in meeting newcomers. These kinds of events present good opportunity to meet and create close relationships each other. In conclusion, causes and examples can be multiplied in this case. Although many people have some justified reasons that they cannot attend to meet, some events would be beneficial to break their persistence. 46 dk.