An increasing number of people are changing their careers. What are the reasons? Do you think this is a positive or negative development to society?

It is true that job-hopping is increasingly common in modern times. From my perspective, this phenomenon is problematic to a certain extent, and I will give my detailed explanation in the following paragraphs. It is undebatable that the supporters of job-hopping have a reason for this. Firstly, job-hopping exists because several individuals are searching for their passion. Specifically, realising one’s true calling is an arduous task, and each citizen has an overview of their vocation when they really perform tasks. Consequently, each staff has to experience a lot of careers to realise the most favourite professions. Secondly, brilliant individuals are often welcomed by a significant number of companies. Specifically, with a job whose human resources are extremely limited, companies compete dramatically to convince the labour force. In fact, the programmers in Vietnam are respected to the point that headhunters are willing to compensate for labour contracts if the workers leave jobs to their companies. However, the above views are completely inferior to the bad aspects of the phenomenon being mentioned. Job-hopping might result in several problems for both the labour forces and companies. Firstly, businesses would bear more costs for recruitment. Specifically, each company has a different way of operation and code of conduct, which requires them to allocate budget and time to train fresh workers before they have to work on tasks. Consequently, increasing turnover of staff forces companies to constantly recruit and train new candidates, which would be futile when this employee quit this job in the future. Secondly, the labour force might encounter financial burdens. Specifically, constant job-hopping will prevent workers from accumulating experience, as well as developing their expertise. Therefore, staff who unluckily find their favourite work lack career development and monthly income, which would lead to a financially-unstable life when they grow old. In conclusion, it is undebatable that job-hopping allows individuals to follow their true calling and work according to their abilities. However, I still believe that this is a negative phenomenon because it not only increases the recruitment costs of businesses but also creates a financial burden for workers.