Some people say that it is fair for each group member to be given the same grade after a group project. Others think that different grades should be allocated based on the level of contribution. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a view that students are given the same score when they work as a team. While others say that it is not fair to be marked the same grades regardless of the level of contribution to their group project. I would say that different scores should be graded based on the individual's participation level. To begin with, teamwork is a key factor in evaluation when students work on a group project. They can learn the importance of cooperation to get a good grade as a team. In other words, they already know the fact that if they try not to do their best, it will affect their teammates' grades. Therefore, each member is highly encouraged to show their best performance to contribute to solving the given task. A survey answered by college students showed that they tend to focus more when working as a team rather than doing an individual assignment. Nevertheless, I strongly argue that it is unfair when students get the same score without considering personal efforts. Because students should be prepared for the real world. In the professional field, people who do not deal with their own duty have to take responsibility for the consequences of their poor results. For example, in the Premier League, a player who showed great performance is well-paid and becomes famous while those who didn't usually get replaced by other players. To sum up, professors should give different grades to the students considering their contribution as a team members when they work on a group project, though learning the pivotalness of teamwork by working as a group plays an important role in their personal growth.