In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is observed that in some cultures, parents often teach their children that if they work hard enough, their efforts will be paid deservedly. While this view has some advantages, the disadvantages are more significant. On the one hand, encouraging children to work hard have a huge effect on their characteristics. For example, the academic journey is hard and long, students have to put in many efforts to succeed in it. By telling offspring that hard work will be paid, many students have been inspired and gained many achievements such as national prizes. Thus, those children who succeed in their studies are more likely to have a wonderful career in the future since they learned a lot of skills and knowledge at a young age. On the other hand, many youngsters are suffered from both physical and mental issues because of their families. For example, many Asian parents put too much pressure on their children and often tell them to work hard. In order to achieve parents’ expectations, many adolescents stay up late to study, and attend so many extra classes. Many students in Asia are diagnosed to have diseases related to the stomach, and undergo anxiety, and depression. Furthermore, some students have lack social skills due to studying too much and not enough experience in real life. In conclusion, motivating children by promising success have some benefits, but the negative effects outweigh them.