many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. some people however that other types of progress are equally important for a country

Over the past few decades, the issue of economic growth has been widely debated. While many authorities take the development of the economy as the most crucial goal and even spend plenty of money on enhancing it, I believe that other aspects of improvement are important as well. I will discuss both views in the following essay and give my own opinion. One of the reasons why governments regard the development of the economy as the first goal is because they could obtain more taxation from companies for improving infrastructure. For example, when a nation's economy grows up, people's income might increase and will be more willing to purchase goods. The companies will earn more money as well, and the annual taxation will therefore rise. As a result, governments could invest more in public transportation and education systems in order to give citizens a better life. However, although it sounds reasonable, other types of improvement such as culture are crucial as well. A country could elevate its international status by developing soft power. For instance, Jay Chou, a famous male singer and composer coming from Taiwan, is known for his talent in mandarin pop music. His songs have been recognized all over the world so many foreigners visited Taiwan not only for attending his concert but tried to meet him on the street. Therefore, cultural progress could boost Taiwan's soft power and make foreigners more willing to travel to Taiwan, which contributes to the economy of our nation. In conclusion, there is no doubt that authorities should make a great effort in the country's economy to improve the thriving of society, but other growth of soft power should also be taken into account.