Some people think that using mobile phones and computers has a negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that young people's reading and writing abilities are harmed by their use of smartphones and computers. In my opinion, I would strongly agree with this viewpoint because they prefer to obtain knowledge from computers by watching videos rather than reading books, and they like to connect via cell phones using spoken language. Firstly, we live in a digital era, and cyber addictions occur. There are too many contexts in cyberspace that might divert children's attention away from reading. In other words, young people have lost interest in books because they can see everything they want with the click of a button. Moreover, if they only watch videos and play games, they will have a reading handicap. For instance, my ten-year-old son is obsessed with some YouTube videos, and no matter how many books I buy, he refuses to read them. Unfortunately, his reading skills are not developing. When it comes to writing, teenagers communicate with one another on social media and are unconcerned with spelling and written language regulations. Primarily, abbreviations and conversational tone are mainly used in writing. I believe that is the reason for their poor writing skills. For example, many teachers say that nowadays, compared to years ago when we did not have gadgets, namely laptops and smartphones, students' writing abilities are getting worse and worse. In conclusion, many people consider computers and smartphones to reduce children's reading and writing abilities, and I entirely agree with this statement. Cyber addictions and social media use are deteriorating young people's abilities.