People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic.

there is a current debate surrounding whether longer prison sentences or alternative solutions can be applied to reduce the rate of crime. personally, I hold the belief that there is a variety of ways that should be utilized with a view to minimizing the number of criminals. on the one hand, imposing long-term prison sentences can be effective in certain circumstances. it is true that offenders are able to be aware of the intensity of punishment which is both strict and serious,so they can be discouraged from becoming criminals. for example, in the UAE, criminals, especially rapists and murderers usually get lifetime prison sentences due to their anti-social behaviour. as a result, people need to think carefully before committing a crime there. therefore, it is believed that strict punishment can prevent people from crimes. on the other hand, the availability of education and employment can reduce crime rates significantly. firstly, providing proper education facilities are likely to broaden people's horizon about morality, which can help them to understand the core value of life. hence, people would have an optimistic view towards their life and be away from crimes. furthermore, most people commit crimes because of the burden of finance, so a variety of occupations should be supplied to keep them busy and have a better standard of living. for instance, in Sweden, the government is working continuously for more employment opportunities, thus the crime rate in this nation is remarkably low. in conclusion, although the effectiveness of longer prison terms is undeniable, I strongly believe that the supply of education facilities and employment opportunities is the far better option. it is predicted that the problem of crime will be eliminated completely in the future if these methods are applied in a proper way.