The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that enhancing human lives is the primary goal of scientific development. I agree with the statement but with some concerns. As the saying goes, "Necessity is the mother of invention." People are encouraged to solve the problem when there is a need. When it comes to the field of science, for instance, vaccines were invented to save countless lives when humans were suffering from deadly diseases, having a desire to find a method to prevent viruses harm the bodies. Another example is the development of communication devices. I believe that 50 years ago, people hardly expected a world where people could connect face to face despite a great distance from each other by a screen, and even carry out various activities on it with simple taps. From the examples above, it can be seen that people benefit from the progress of science to enhance life quality. Although science indeed has brought a more convenient and efficient future for humans, there are some worries that people need to keep an eye on. On the one hand, it is noticeable that science sometimes may be applied to danger. In World War Two, the atomic bomb was made to be used by the military to end the war, but taking a toll on people's lives. Subsequently, the atomic bomb has become a weapon to threaten other countries not to attack its owner, resulting in a cold-war period in human history. Apart from making people's lives better, science would lead to tragedies when it was misused in specific fields. On the other hand, individuals may be over-depend on the result of scientific improvement. Take ChatGPT for example, its enormous database and algorithm enable individuals to solve almost any problems by inputting prompts; however, people may lose the ability of critical thinking, as they can get answers easily without trying by themselves. In conclusion, scientific development is going forward to improve people's lives, but it should be used wisely by individuals to avoid having an adverse effect on them.