Some people think both governments and individuals spend too much on national celebrations such as New Year and other festivals. To some extent do you agree and disagree?

There are some arguments in favour of both governments and individuals putting much emphasis on national festivals while ignoring traditional festivals. To a certain degree I agree that we should highlight the importance of domestic celebrations. However, I also assist that we are supposed to have a open mind to foreign festivals. Nowadays it has become a kind of fashion for young people to celebrate international festivals such as Valentine’s Day and Christmas. It seems that people are easily influenced by consumerism and tend to purchase products they don’t need at all, which results in the waste of money and resources. For example, chocolates are popular among young buyers, which are regarded as typical presents on Valentine’s Day. In addition, the popularity of national celebrities may threaten traditional culture and regional customs. If people focus much more on national festivals, thus losing interest and confidence towards traditional festivals such as Chinese New Year, traditional culture will face the risk of vanishing. However, I also firmly believe that the cost of international festivals brings us some benefits. The investment and funds in national celebrities from councils and officials convey the signal that the country is generous to external culture, which is advantageous to cultural exchange, cultural diversity as well as cultural prosperity. What’s more, some international celebrities are associated with positive meanings, and it’s the government’s duty to free people from out-of-date conventional wisdom. For instance, the celebration of International Women’s Day will improve people ’s awareness of gender equality and encourage people to fight for women’s rights. To sum up, while it is understandable for both governments and individuals to emphasize the significance of traditional festivals, it is equally vital for them to spend on national celebrations. I strongly believe we can strike a comprise between local culture and international culture.