As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

More funds should be invested on vehicle based transportation systems due to increasing car numbers. It is believed some individuals that these improvements ought to be assumed by government while others assert that the costs should be undertaken by drivers. It is reasonable and fair that government should pay the road investments because it gathers funds via taxes for improving infrastructure systems. Looking at this case from the other side, drivers may assume maintenance and improvement of the roads because only they utilize these services. On the one hand, it is a common fact that governments are responsible in the developing and maintenance of the road systems. To perform their responsibilities, they gather taxes via some products and services. Subsequently, these taxes are allocated according to the needs of public. The improvement of the road links and additional roads can be counted as examples. Besides, governments have provided these services since municipal phenomenon starts in 19th century and their experience sufficient. Thus, governments can overcome these services easily. On the other hand, the liability of the improvement of the roads may be assumed by drivers because usually they utilize these roads. They can establish foundations for roads and they pay money annually according to their mileage and vehicle type. Afterwards, they conduct the investments of road systems with governments’ authorities. With these situations, their expectations from the roads can be solved rapidly and easily. In short, paying the costs by drivers can be beneficial for them. In conclusion, causes and examples on this case can be multiplied. Although, drivers ’ direct payments for improving roads is looking beneficial, in my opinion, these improvements should be handled by governments due to their experience and better organizations for using funds. 50 dk.