In many countries, governments spend large sums of money on the arts and this is supported by some taxpayers as worthwhile. Others, however, think that this money would be better spent on health and education. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In which fields governments should invest public money has always been the object of many debates. It is argued that the field of art should receive more funds, while others think that health and education are more important. This essay agrees with the latter statement and in the upcoming paragraphs it will discuss both views explaining the reasons of this opinion. Firstly, let's talk about the first viewpoint. Many individuals believe that politicians should use public funds to improve the world of art in their country. Therefore, the institutions that will receive more capital will be museums and music events organisations. According to them, investing in arts means boosting the nation's economy. In fact, paintings, statues and attractions that are well maintained and plenty of festivals will attract more tourists. it is common knowledge the fact that tourism brings wealth to the country. However, I personally think that the real richness of one nation is measured by the level of well-being of the population. Hence, it doesn' t matter if your land is visited by myriads of tourists and it offers many fun and interesting things to do if then it lacks of the essential facilities that make citizens proud and satisfied ofliving living there. The second statement argues that rulers should spend more finacial resources on health and education. As a matter of fact, these two categories represent the main services that a community needs. It is known that a good health is theprincipal brick to make your life happy because without it you cannot enjoy the pleasures that the world offers. For example, the deaf are unable to listen to the music and they can' t go to concerts. Furthermore, as regards education, pupils that aren' t well educated won'tbe wont be able to understand properly a masterpiece because they don' t have the required knowledge that they should have achieved at school. So, what's the point in putting art at the top if no one can appreciate it? To sum up, art shouldn' t be the main priority of rulers. Instead, politicians should firstly think about the wellness of their citizens otherwise the effort to make the State a better artistic place will be useless since nobody will be able to enjoy it.