Countries should produce the food that their population eat, and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that producing food for national consumption is better than importing food product from other countries. I am totally agree about this statement because focusing on the local food production will bring benefits which are elaborated below. First thing first, if the government focus on local product for national consumption, it will support local farmers and industries. Furthermore, it also foster economy development of the country. For instance, the Indonesia government have policy to support local sugar production through limit the sugarcane import which brings profits for local sugar industry especially the sugarcane farmers. Secondly, importing product also brings health risk for the society. Some bacteria from the home country could be attached on imported vegetables and fruits, then, the bacteria will spread and cause health problem for the destination country. As an illustration, raw vegetables bring E coli bacteria which is dangerous for human health. Lastly, consuming local product will reduce the cost of transporting goods which is expensive. Some raw products also require high maintenances of imported product to keep the good quality, and it will make high price of the food product as the consequences. However, not all people can afford high price of food for their daily basis. Taking an example, imported meat requires a big freezer in the transporting process which is cost a lot of money. Unsurprisingly, the imported meat is more expensive than local meat. All in all, I do agree that producing local food is the better way to fulfill the population’s consumption than importing food product. The reasons are about supporting local industry, preventing health risk and reducing the transporting cost.