Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In our contemporary life, a number of universities focus on online learning rather than offline classes. I am of the opinion that this has both positive and negative impacts on students ’ learning outcomes. On the one hand, offering online learning courses can beneficial in several ways. To begin with, those courses allow students to have a flexible learning schedule. Participants can access to virtual classrooms regardless of their particular time and place, which is specially advantageous for students living far away from campus. Furthermore, applying an online lesson which is more convenient can boost the efficiency of the study progress. Instead of transferring to tertiary schools, attendants can completely deal with the courses at home which is less time consuming. For instance, my friend has saved 40-minute-drive to college since he altered to online study last year. On the other hand, online courses are a poor substitute for traditional classes delivered at universities. Firstly, these courses do not offer face-to-face interaction which is important to students ’ understanding of the lessons. As a matter of fact, this type of learning does not allow eyes contact and body language between teacher and students as well as discussion between classmates. Secondly, a lot of self-discipline is required when choosing online learning. It is obvious that there are so many distractions not only from the Internet while studying from online websites but also from surrounding environment. For example, students learning in a virtual classroom are suddenly interrupted by doing a favor for their parents. This also contributes to lower results as students may tend to lose focus during their online lessons. In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, it can be claimed that having online courses available to choose from while at university have both benefits and drawbacks need to be considered.