Some people believe that using taxpayer funds to look for life on other planets is important. Others, however, think that it is a waste of public money because there are much more important issues requiring funding on our own planet. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In recent decades, governments have invested large sums of taxpayer funds in exploring life on other celestial bodies. Some people argue it is essential to expand our resources, whereas others say we have more urgent issues to address on the earth. However, I firmly believe space exploration is the ultimate solution to all our problems. To commence, some would argue that exploring the possibility of life on other planets will expand our resources to uplift our standard of living. To elaborate further, the probability of finding fossil fuels on other planets can solve the problem of lower crude oil production. Similarly, there is a serious need to find strategic minerals like lithium and uranium, and studies have shown that we can find these on other celestial bodies. Furthermore, the problem of declining land productivity can be solved by growing crops on less exploited soil ensuring food security. Also, this event will expand our knowledge base for further space exploration. To illustrate, Space X has demonstrated the availability of water on Mars. On the flip side, many would claim that we have failed to find such activities on other planets despite wasting a lot of taxpayer funds. Moreover, there are many socioeconomic issues which require our immediate attention. For instance, India ranks very low on the world hunger index report; however, it has continuously increased its expenditure on space exploration. Likewise, other issues like poverty and illiteracy require greater investments. Hence, we must invest in an idea which should be visible and certain. I believe space exploration is the ultimate answer to all our socioeconomic problems. Accessibility to resources like petroleum and strategic minerals will lower the cost of living, thus helping the poor population to improve their standard of living. Similarly, possession of land will solve the issue of urbanisation and slums and may result in a mass housing program. Hence, space exploration is necessary for a better life. To conclude, we must invest in the space sector to find a variety of essential resources; however, we should allocate a portion of our annual budget to address the current problems of our people. Hence, this balanced approach would be helpful for the prosperity of the human race.