ln some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some cultures, children are often persuaded to believe that they can achieve anything with diligence. I would like to discuss its advantages and disadvantages. In terms of the advantages of this behaviour, children are more likely to become confident and have a passion for trying new things if they are encouraged by their parents or teachers that they can achieve their goals with hard work. Children are regarded as curious and active and they are easy to be attracted to new things. So they are willing to challenge themselves to achieve their goals. A child who is obsessed with puzzles, for example, is eager to spend a few days completing a 1000-piece jigsaw puzzle. If parents encourage them and tell them that they can complete this complex puzzle, they will become more confident and full of energy to assemble those small pieces together, otherwise, they might give up when they run into some problems in the process. In terms of the disadvantages of this behaviour, children may overestimate their abilities and set unreasonable goals. They are convinced that they can achieve anything, and as a result, they ignore the importance of considering the feasibility of their goals. Children will try hard to achieve their goals and lose their confidence and passion after failing several times. In addition, some children may try some dangerous challenges like extreme sports. For example, some children may directly participate in climbing without beginner training, putting them at serious risk of injury. In a nutshell, Telling children that they can achieve their goals with hard work can improve their confidence and enthusiasm, but it can also encourage them to set unreasonable goals, wasting their time and energy.