Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Lots of individuals have the opinion that social media websites have a negative impact on individuals and society. In the impending,essay I will present my ideas on the statement and why I completely agree with the statement. First and foremost, individuals like students and older people often spend their time on social media websites. Student comments on post shared by their friend, They also troll them. Sometimes they share memes on that too. While older people spend time on videos viral by friends and relatives. However, To illustrate, In India social news websites are used for viral memes, posting comments and trolling celebs has become the favourite time pass of youngsters which exposes them to cyberbullying, depression etc.. whereas the older population is engaged in Spending time on videos shared by friends and relatives. On the other hand, social media websites are used by criminals and seamsters to deceive and earn money by committing fraud online. scamsters often use fake and counterfeit links to steal money from victims' bank accounts. furthermore, fake and paid news is circulated by vested interest on social media. In the US, To cite an example, during presidential elections fake news was a major issue for the election commission there. To stop these aftermath US govt has to ban the internet in certain states during election dates. To recapitulate, Social media has various disadvantages. It's a delicate tool to deal with. Repurcusion of using social media is profoundly serious. Social media should be monitored by the government on a 24/7 basis.In the present age of the internet, It has become a weapon to spread information whether it is correct or incorrect.