Taking a year of between finishing school and starting university is a waste of students' time. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's societies, there is a rising issue related to students that prefer to take a gap year before applying to universities. The biggest reason behind this decision is students are preparing their application to their dream schools or even to the ivy league in the US. I totally agree regarding taking a year before starting to apply and I will elaborate on my point of view below. To begin with, nowadays's requirements to apply to renowned universities become undoubtedly more challenging and become more demanding. That being said, students need to acquire some level of basic test, excellent GPA, and also sufficient experience in the research field. Thus, if you want to apply to top universities while you do not have these particular application checklists, the best suggestion is to take a step back and prepare all of the documents in a year. Furthermore, you can reap another benefit such as you can dig deeper into the major that you want to take for either your diploma or bachelor's degree. It is totally understandable if you have not found your passion and your destination in high school. This may happen because students are giving their full attention to their studies in spite of thinking about their goals in further studies. To sum up, not every student is ready to continue their further studies after graduating from high school. By taking a gap year, they are given a chance to analyze their goals. Not only they can be accepted at one of the best educational institutions, but they also can find their passion and follow it in the coming 3 to 4 years in college.