The use of smartphones is decreasing our collective intelligence because we are reliant on the technology and not our own minds. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, the invention of smartphones has revolutionized our lifestyles due to which the capacity of the human brain has decreased significantly. This development has my full agreement and we will discuss the reasons in the forthcoming paragraphs. To commence, humans are dependent on smartphones which have led to the degradation of thinking skills. To explain, people use their phones to do their basic tasks such as calculating and setting reminders. Furthermore, it also impacts mental health in a negative manner as individuals spend most of their time scrolling through social media which contains an addictive factor and makes individuals unproductive. For example, an employee might suffer in writing emails due to the slang language that is used while texting. Thus, the above example vividly illustrates how mobiles can be detrimental to one’s cognitive ability. Continue, children are spending their time playing video games which affects their minds. To explicate, kids can use them to do their homework with the help of the internet where they can find answers to their questions which might reduce their creativity. In addition, it also makes them adopt a sedentary lifestyle to sit at home which affects their social and communication skills which are quite useful when they face real challenges. To exemplify, a new software named ChatGPT is an AI language model which helps in any kind of writing. Hence, the aforementioned reason substantiates the use of phones has made humans reliant on them. To conclude, the advent of smartphones has affected people’s lifestyles and they do their simple tasks with the help of it. Moreover, children are becoming dependent on them to do their assignments resulting in decreasing their imagination and knowledge. In my perspective, mobiles have made a significantly negative impact on individuals where they are over-reliant on them for small issues.