THE USE OF SMARTPHONES IS DECREASING OUR COLLECTIVE INTELLIGENCE BECAUSE WE ARE RELIANT ON THE TECHNOLOGY NOT ON OUR OWN MINDS. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

The use of the smarthpones is well-established fact, we are completely addicted to them. Any technological innovation has always brought with it both positive and negative aspects, advantages and disadvantages. The hystory is full of similar cases, it is suffcient to think about what the electronic calculators meant for the 20th century. The rapidity in counting has been pitted against the loss of the usual ability in memonic mnemonics demonic computation by young generation. As a result, the most of us has lost the familiarity with elementary mathematical rules. For instance, the copy-machine as well, invented during the last century, has reduced time spent by the school teachers for exercises’ dictation leading students to a progressive worsening of hand-writing skills. Even the introduction of smartphones has two sides of the same coin. From my point of view,the most advantage of the smartphone is the “portability”. It is always with us!. We have gained the possibility to call someone immediately without spending time in searching a phone booth. This is useful for sure in case of emergency situations like healthy issues or broken down car. The possibility to use apps to arrange travels, make online shopping, manage personal agenda and payments is a saving-time advantage and contribues contribute to the environment protection thanks to a paper-less approach. There is a negative side as well, of course. First of all, I can say the lack of privacy and the almost pathological addiction between users and tool. We rely on smartphones so much that we are no longer used to remember our appointments or the grocery list by ourselves. When we cannot use our cellphone because of low battery or bad signal we feel vulnerable and almost “naked” In conclusion, I agreed saying that smartphones have been decreasing our memorization abilities but nevertheless benefits overcomes negative side. In a world where technology goes in a high speed way think to step back in a pre-smartphone age would be like to come back in a world without electricity