Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent times, most individuals choose to be sole proprietors rather than work for a cooperating group. This essay will elucidate both reasons and give the negative aspects of being a sole proprietor. To begin with, individuals seek to be self-employed because, the profit they get, is for them only. They will not share the money with anyone because it is their own company. Also, individuals are not bound by any rules. They can do whatever pleases them. Furthermore, they render no account to anyone compared to working in a company. For example,in a survey conducted in Australia, self-employed people said they do not share their gains with anyone except for themselves and operate their own rules However, being a sole proprietorship has its own demerits. When the individual dies, the job collapses because there is no one to look to hereafter. For example, Michael Jackson, a renowned CEO in textiles in South Africa,when died no one looked after his job which collapsed. In addition, when the owner of a company spends the capital, it retrogresses the work leaving it in a stagnant position. Furthermore, the work becomes limited in ideas because the owner takes decisions alone without consulting others unlike the company In conclusion, self-employed people spend the profit alone. However, when the owner dies the work dies off too.