Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programes (for example working for a charity, improving the nighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). What extent do you agree or disagree?

In some perspectives, it is necessary for high schools to provide courses allowing young individuals to contribute to their societies. I strongly agree with such opinions due to these policies not only benefit local societies but provoke various positive effects on students. To begin with, making community service a compulsory subject in high schools could release the shortage of manpower encountered by many charitable institutions. It allows associated departments to provide better service for those in need. For example, a growing number of educational institutions encourage their students to participate in charitable activities, be it providing food to homeless people in the community centres, or taking care of abandoned animals, which require a great number of social workers. On top of that, the experiences of teaching kids in suburb areas, or maintaining natural environments in rural regions could cultivate the younger generation with responsibilities and independence, since they need to take care of themselves while being away from their families, moreover, they being looked up by kids in the countryside to teach them useful knowledge or protecting wild species from the threat of artificial wastes. For example, some of the volunteers who work in charities were accustomed to joining similar events while they were high school students. To conclude, there are many merits of making it an obligation for young people to support local communities, including providing sufficient human sources to ensure a good quality service, moreover, training young individuals to look after themselves when their parents are not around. Therefore, I completely agree that such courses should be applied in high school.