Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Nowadays lots of cities have confronted tremendous problems caused by a surplus of population. As a victim, I would like to discuss two serious problems related to Densely populated cities and propose some effective solutions to deal with them. Excessive urban population will lead to water shortage. Domestic water and water for food and industrial products produced to meet the needs of the urban population consume a lot of water resources. However, generally there are no big rivers in cities that can provide a lot of water resources, and the water stored in reservoirs is limited. So overpopulated urban zones often run into water deficit. In addition, more labour forces and relatively fewer job opportunities cause a large number of unemployed people. They will be dissatisfied and even become unstable factors in society. Governments could develop novel technology such as auto-control water tape to reduce water use. Also, they should set more slogans and publish policies concerning water saving to encourage people to cut down the amount of water use. Individuals should arouse awareness of saving water and cutting down unnecessary water utilization. Therefore, limited water resources can be used where necessary to avoid water shortage. What’s more, governments should provide more jobs for the surplus workforce in order to decrease unemployed persons. Labours could improve self-ability and increase knowledge to meet job requirements. In this way, unemployment will fall. In conclusion, insufficient water resources and unemployment is a threat to overpopulated urban areas. I suggest that governments could strengthen water -saving publicity and expand the job market while citizens could realize the importance of water and improve themselves.