Many people are moving from rural areas to big cities. Why has this happened?To what extent do you think it is a good trend?

Currently, lots of people are moving from rural areas to big cities,especially metropolises. They may think that there are more job opportunities in big cities and they can enjoy a better quality of life in cities. However, this trend will present many challenges to cities. There are two main reasons why people tend to migrate to big cities. First, more companies are located in cities, so it is easier for people to land decent and well-paid jobs. In contrast, there are fewer job opportunities in the countryside due to the fact that many industries are underdeveloped. Another reason is that citizens have easy access to more comprehensive and perfect public services, including education and health care. Young couples who used to live in the countryside hope their children receive a good education, which can enable their children to break the cycle of poverty. However, the increase in population caused by rural population migration will cause great pressure on the infrastructure and housing of the city. Some cities don’t have enough land to accommodate a large number of people. Lots of migrants, for example, end up living in slums and bearing adverse living conditions as urban facilities fail to meet the growing demand for accommodation and they can’t afford the cost of the house. Another problem associated with the rural-to-urban shift is that the rural-urban income disparity will grow rather than diminish. Those energetic, diligent and creative youngsters will move to cities to pursue further education and land jobs. As a result, the labour shortage in rural communities makes it difficult to revitalize the rural economy. Also, some young people will choose to commit crimes because of the gap between rich and poor. In a nutshell, the poor employment prospects and the underdevelopment of the economy lead to the population shift. This is not a positive trend because it affects the normal operation of cities and widens the gap between the rich and the poor.