Some people say that professional workers such as doctors, nurses and teachers who make greater contributions to the society should be paid more than those people in the field of sports and entertainment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is generally believed that professional workers like doctors, nurses and teachers should get a higher income than people in other less important fields such as sports and entertainment However, I disagree with the idea that associating salaries solely with the social value of a specific job. There are reasons why some people tend to say that professionals in the medical and educational fields should earn higher salaries than athletes or actors. There is no doubt that doctors and nurses do play a key role in saving people’s lives. For example, without their hardworking, we couldn’t have saved millions of patients’ lives and controlled the COVID-19 pandemic. As for teachers, their proficiency is dispensable for the cultivation of future well-educated workers needed by various industries. On the contrary, athletes and actors do not have much of a role to play in these aspects. However, although it seems that professional workers make more contributions to society than those who are engaged in sports and entertainment, it doesn’t mean that the former should obtain higher payment than the latter. First, salary can’t just depend on contributions. It also relies on the business value created by the person. Famous athletes and movie stars may deserve better economic returns because they can generate more advertising profit. What’s more, they can also play a key role in society. YangQian, for example, gained impressive achievement. She won the first gold medal for China in the 2021 Tokyo Olympics, which can significantly boost Chinese national pride. In a nutshell, it is unreasonable to conclude that professional workers deserve better salaries because of their social importance. People in the field of sports and entertainment may deserve better income as they may create more business value and also make contributions to society.