Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiements should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, a number of pharmaceutical firms are using animals to invent new drugs and test their medical products. Many folks believe that this fact infringes on ethical values as the tested animals have to put up with severe pain, whereas others advocate testing on animals for the sake of human beings. In this essay, I will examine both viewpoints and give some supporting points for using animals for drug testing. On the one hand, scientists are said to have conducted an immoral activity to use several types of creatures for the development of medicines. For instance, in the labs, mice are raised for medical testing purposes. They are given illnesses so that the effectiveness of the drugs is measured. And it is considered to be so cruel that many people strongly recommend that it should be banned. These citizens suggest alternative methods be applied to put an end to the pain and suffering of the tested animals. On the other hand, the merit of using animals in developing and examining medical treatment is crystal clear. It seems obvious that millions of lives would have been lost if it had not been for appropriate medicines made by experimenting on some genres of creatures. For example, during the time of the Covid-19 pandemic, pigs, hamsters and nonhuman primates were believed to be involved in the study of Covid-19 vaccines. As a result, scientists know which dosage is suitable for people. Hence, the sacrifice of these creatures can be justified if human lives are saved. To conclude, although it is apparent that there is an ethical violation when using animals for making drugs or testing them, it is undeniable that this tendency can help to save the human race from plenty of ailments.