Many people believe that cooking is an essential life skill and should be taught to boys and girls at school. Others disagree and believe that it is a waste of school time. Discuss both Views and give Your opinion

Since the inception of humans, cooking has been known to meet one of the basic needs of man - food. This skill ensures that the food we eat is properly and safely processed before being consumed. In times past, the ability to cook was a desired skill and most people were required to have it. However, with the advent of civilisation, a lot of people have come to question its necessity. While a group of individuals think that it is a necessary tool to possess in order to live well and hence, children should be taught, another school of thought are not in support as they think it is a poor use of school time for the children. Firstly, I am of the opinion that the art of cooking is an important life skill and should be added to the education curriculum of school children. This skill itself promotes creativity, self discovery and exploration. During the cooking process, a lot of activities and items are used therefore, the ability to manage and combine these activities and items produce the desired food outcome. When school children are allowed to participate in this, they can learn their preferences, express themselves individually and explore other food items. For example, they can learn how to make simple meals incase they are faced with unfavourable situations. On the other hand, some people consider cooking as a non- essential subject to be taught in schools because they are of the opinion that school boys and girls can learn how to cook from their parents at home. Most families prepare their meals at home and these school children assist in the cooking as a result they are actively or passively tutored in the art of cooking. For instance, parents encourage their wards to do little chores in the kitchen while they cook. Chores like plucking leaves and washing them which the child imbibes. In conclusion, I think school children should be taught the skill of cooking as part of their school work as this will enhance their development. Neverthless, attention should be paid to the amount of time allocated to this as they have other opportunities to learn at home.