In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly, and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is growing sentiment today that the government should pay the fee for elderly people when they use healthcare services. The reason for this opinion related to the proportion of elderly people is increasing rapidly and it creates a highly unbalanced rate between young people and elderly people. Although I tend to agree with this opinion, I still believe it has both pros and cons for this tendency. On the one hand, it is no doubt to say that paying healthcare fee for elderly people is a ethical action from the government and it also shows that the country always takes care of their population. Elderly people spend their young time for work and also spend the amount of money on taxes. The amount of tax paid to the government for things like repairing roads, renovating hospitals, and improving healthcare services. From that point, elderly people have the right to enjoy the benefits from the government, especially in the healthcare field. On the other hand, the government should enact some policies related to healthcare fees for elderly people. They can give them some subsidy amount when elderly people want to check their health or use healthcare services. From that, elderly people should focus more, take care more about their health and use healthcare services. In conclusion, I believe that paying healthcare fees for elderly people is a good action from the government.