Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that reading stories from books is a better leisure activity than watching TV and playing computer games. Although watching TV and playing computer games benefit children in many ways, I also agree that reading books offers more advantages Admittedly, there are many advantages to watching TV and playing PC games. The biggest advantage of playing electronic games is that they improve and quicken decision-making. In many such games, players have to keep track of a large pool of information and make split-second decisions and this in turn enhances decision-making in real life as well. Besides this, electronic games also improve hand-eye coordination. Similarly, watching TV can help to learn about other cultures and help relieve the stress of studies. However, reading is more effective because it provides active learning while playing video games and watching TV is passive. In other words, reading books enhances children's imagination. For example, children make different images in their minds when they read some articles or sentences and then use their imagination to put the story together. By contrast, the TV audience just passively accepts information from the TV screen. Furthermore, reading stories also helps children master language development, as by reading stories, children learn pronunciation and vocabulary. Although children also develop language and vocabulary through TV, the language used in movies and TV shows is much more basic. Finally, TV and video games actually reduce focus and concentration as there are constantly changing camera angles, short scenes and breaks. Books, on the other hand, increase focus as they engage and hold onto the reader's concentration. In conclusion, it can be reiterated that reading stories in books is better, and more time should be allotted to reading than to watching TV and playing on computers.