The increasing use of computers and mobile phones has had a negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the context of technology evolution, computers and mobile phones are becoming more and more popular. Recent years have witnessed a debate that whether this trend poses a threat to the reading and writing skills of young people. While I agree that it can descend into a detrimental effect to some extent, computers and mobile phones can be helpful tools for the young to improve their reading and writing skills. On the one hand, it is undeniable that handwriting can be afflicted when people spend more time typing on technology devices than they did before. Nothing can alter the fact that handwriting will be deteriorating if it is not practised regularly. Consequently, in case it is compulsory to write some documents by hand, for example writing essays for the university entrance exam, it will be a disadvantage if others find it hard to read. On the other hand, reading and writing skills do not completely depend on which tools are used, hence these skills can not be exacerbated by those smart devices. To be more specific, it is obvious that reading on computers and mobile phones still requires the young ability to understand thoroughly what the authors mean. That is the reason why IELTS reading tests are provided on computers as well. Furthermore, technology can even provide opportunities to improve writing skills with the devising of grammar check applications such as Grammarly and Quilbot. Thanks to these tools, people can learn how to present sentences in a logical and simple way and be aware of their mistakes in writing. In a conclusion, though it is admitted that handwriting can be affected due to the increasing use of technology devices, I hold the opinion that its benefits outweigh the drawbacks. Therefore, they generally create positive impacts on the young's reading and writing skills.