Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job, shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Everybody experiences full of ups and downs throughout their lives. Once they encounter hardships and difficulties, some accept the situation as it is whereas others don’t give up and turn around the bad situations. I personally prefer the latter and this essay will discuss both views. People have different levels of risk appetite. One of the possibilities of why people accept unfavourable events happening to them is possibly due to their risk-averse nature. For example, the person can’t resign from his existing job due to his fear of becoming unemployed although he is unhappy in the current working environment. Moreover, it can be temporary where people tolerate a bad situation for a period and they are waiting for the right time to take action. To illustrate, people tend to stick with their existing jobs during the economic recession and they start to find new jobs only when the economy recovers. However, I agree with those who argue we should try better to improve the bad situation as there is a saying that said when one door closes, there will be another door open to you. We shouldn’t limit ourselves and try everything to solve the problem. To illustrate this, when covid broke out, the job security of people from the airline industry was severely affected. Yet, some of them reskilled themselves with online courses and tried new roles in different industries. Without any effort, we won’t be able to see any solution. In conclusion, I believe perseverance and persistence will be rewarded in the end.