FEW PEOPLE DEVOTE TIME TO HOBBIES NOWADASY.SAY WHY YIU THINK THIS IS THE CASE AND WHAT EFFECT THIS HAS ON THE INDIVIDUAL AND SOCIETY IN GENERAL

The leisure activities and time spent on this have plummeted in recent decades. There are several reasons for this; such as addiction to digital gadgets and the desire to acquire materialistic prosperity. It is undeniable that this trend has serious impacts on every single person and the community as a whole. At the outset, there are two main causes for the gradual waning of hobbies these days. Firstly, the revolutionised digital era makes people couch potatoes in front of laptops, smartphones, the internet and social media. So obviously the citizens become less interested in carrying out an activity apart from these. Secondly, In an aspiration to achieve materialistic prosperity, they extend their working hours thereby cutting down the time spent on hobbies. For example, my uncle who has been a passionate cyclist for years hardly does cycling after being placed in one of the top multinational companies. Incidentally, the above reasons have detrimental effects on the masses. The most significant impact on individuals is the reduction in physical activity. This would lead them to an unbalanced lifestyle; thereby making them the victims of diseases like high blood pressure, obesity, high cholesterol and heart attacks. This is because of the deposition of fats in the body which might naturally cause obesity after a period of time. Another connected effect is the loss of productivity in the workplace even after working for hours and hours together since the employees would deprive of ways to channel their stress. To conclude, contemporary changes like digital addiction and work stress have lessened the time spent on hobbies. These trends not only cause health hazards like heart attacks and obesity but are also reflected in inefficiency in work. Everyone should allocate time to the hobby that interests them. This will help them lead a stress-free and healthy life.