Some people say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sports are acknowledged as being of much import to our lives on a societal scale. While some concur with this statement, several others disagree and opine that it should only hold personal importance. I agree with the former and in the following paragraphs, I will examine both sides pertaining to this issue. Sports can offer exponential benefits to society. Firstly, they imbue people with values such as healthy competition, team spirit, discipline, collective responsibility, and channelling one’s aggression in a socially acceptable way. Secondly, sports galvanise people to be prudent about how they treat their bodies and inculcate the desire to stay fit and active, creating a healthy society in the long run. Further, in terms of fiscal benefits, countries or cities hosting sports events may also profit from sports -related tourism. Sports allow people of different backgrounds to coalesce in a common purpose of playing a sport. In doing so, sports offer a unique advantage in removing social differences and encouraging people to be tolerant of each other and show acceptance. Lastly, the manifold advantages offered by sports are of no better use as they mould the youth of society into better citizens for the future. Sports help in shaping them into physically adept and socially responsible individuals. However, in contrast to the aforementioned points, people have stated that sports hold limited significance in a society depending on individuals’ personal preferences and interests. Sports equipment is also extortionate, which may discourage people from participating. Others have suggested that pursuing sports professionally is not feasible as the players only have a thriving career for a brief period before retiring. Hence, they believe it is better to regard sports as recreational activities. Therefore, in conclusion, I would like to reiterate that while certain people might opine that sports should be merely regarded as pastimes, the numerous advantages it offers necessitates that they should be regarded as a pivotal activity in society.