Social media is having a negative impact on people's lives nowadays. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Support your answer with reasons and examples.

In this contemporary era, social media has become a pivotal part of a person’s life. The rapid progression of technology has revolutionized people and it had a negative impact. This essay has my complete agreement and we will discuss the reasons in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence, the way people use social networking sites is affecting their lifestyles. To explicate, individuals spend hours scrolling social websites due to which they get addicted and do not utilise their precious time on doing anything productive. Moreover, children are quite overwhelmed with the fascinating things that they see which becomes a hindrance and they tend to adopt aspects which can be detrimental to their health. For example, there was a game named Blue Whale Challenge, which took the lives of many teenagers as they followed the game quite seriously without thinking about the consequences which proved that social media can be harmful. Thus, the above example vividly illustrates the impact of such sites. To continue, religiously using these platforms can affect a person’s mental health resulting in anxiety and depression. To elaborate, adolescents who see influencers and get influenced by them might feel insecure about their bodies and features resulting in low self-esteem. In addition, individuals might become a victim of cyberbullying as their audience might make negative comments which could make them stressed which they won’t be able to tackle resulting in attempting suicide. To exemplify, studies show more than 450 teens reported symptoms of stress and depression due to greater use of social websites. Hence, the aforementioned reason substantiates the demerits of this development. To conclude, regular usage of networking platforms can affect one’s lifestyle which can make them sedentary. Furthermore, people might have anxious feelings which due to which they might take become suicidal. In my opinion, social media networks can make an individual to get addicted to it and can increase their vulnerability.