In some countries young people are encouraged to travel or work for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

In the modern eras, high school graduates in many countries popularly take a gap for a year before studying in universities for vacation and working. In this essay, the benefits and drawbacks of spending a period will be elaborate on before my conclusion is reached. On the one hand, youth who decided to spend a while travelling and working can get an experience in exploring the world and can learn some soft skills which cannot find in the classroom. To illustrate, they can join work and travel programmes to be an internship employee in the United States, which is a good opportunity for students to try individual living, learn how to work with others, and also earn an enormous income. Moreover, a year before starting higher education enables young people to explore themselves. Therefore, they can decide better which field of study they want to apply to pursue their favourite jobs, which they do not regret later. On the other hand, it is apparent that students who do not continue studying immediately finish their degree slower than those who do not take a gap. Hence, they start working later and sometimes get a lower salary compared to those of the same age because they have a year more job experience. Furthermore, in some societies, they have to endure insulting comments about their late finishing degree from the surrounding people. For example, In Thailand, If students graduate later than others, they are judged as stupid and lazy ones. In conclusion, despite being underestimated or late working, taking a year to explore the world and ourselves is more worthwhile to do because choosing the wrong faculty and unpleasant jobs results in unhappiness for the rest of your life.