Nowadays many people prefer to study or live in foreign countries. While studying and living abroad brings many benefits to individuals, it also has a number of disadvantages. What are the advantages and disadvantages of leaving your country to live or study abroad? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days people have the tendency to leave their home country and settle in a foreign country. Most of the reasons for this condition circulate between they want to study or live abroad. There is a debate between the advantages and disadvantages of living in a foreign country. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and draw a conclusion. To begin with, I would like to start with the advantages of leaving your home country. It is not denied that living abroad forces people to be more open-minded to new things and become independent. By this I mean, people need to be flexible and try to understand a new cultures that may quite different from their roots. Moreover, people who seek to study abroad may able to receive a better study environments, facilities and opportunities. On the other side of the discussion, there are some disadvantages. Living in another country might not allow us to be exposed to our own culture. Therefore, we might not be able to understand and perform our culture. For example, some people who live abroad for years might not remember most of their native language. In addition, we might not be able to help the development back in our county. In conclusion, there are advantages and disadvantages of deciding to leave your home country and stay abroad for some time. Although it makes people more independent and open-minded, it might make people forget their roots.