Some people think watching TV is bad for children in every way. Others think it is good for the development of children as they grow up. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the advancement of technology, many children nowadays spend a great amount of time watching television programs like talk shows or reality shows. Some individuals believe that television exposure is harmful to children in every aspect while others argue that it can positively contribute to their growth. From my perspective, screen time can be beneficial to children ’s development. There is no doubt that too much video time can have adverse impacts on both children ’s mental and physical health. Children, who are at an important stage of physical development, are likely to suffer from short-sight problems caused by too much screen time. Also, sitting in front of the television for too much time will make children lead a sedentary lifestyle. They are addicted to funny TV set programs and as a result, are unwilling to go out and exercise, leading to an increased risk of obesity. In addition, Some television programs are inappropriate for children since offsprings lack the ability to distinguish right from wrong. They may be attracted to some bad programs, affecting their study or even going astray. However, television serves as an important source of information and knowledge. Students can learn various knowledge which they cannot learn from classrooms from television programs. For example, some science-related programs can help audiences understand some natural phenomena like why there would be earthquakes or volcano eruptions. Students are more willing to learn knowledge by watching different types of television programs, which are colourful and funny. What’s more, watching television is also a good way to refresh and recharge oneself from mental tensions in daily learning life. If children can manage their watching time, it is a good way to help them relax and become motivated to start their studies. In a nutshell, although too much screen time may be harmful to children's mental and physical development, watching television with proper management is a good way to help children various knowledge and entertain themselves.