Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement??

Government invests in various public sectors such that a good amount of money is invested in arts like theatre and music and, other public services. I believe that government must spend money on public services instead of arts. The need for good infrastructure in a developing country as well as securities issues of citizens will prove this. Firstly, the growth of infrastructure is a major sector for the growth of any nation. For instance, better highways, roads, and buildings help people to work effectively in their daily life. However, music and theatre cannot contribute to the betterment of citizens at that level. Therefore, spending on infrastructure will be a better option rather than on arts. Secondly, security issues are also a concern to look up, where government should focus to invest. For example, crimes are increasing rapidly. To control this, spending on security has to be increased such as CCTV cameras in the city and police protection in every area. This is an issue that many people have that their life is at risk when they move to the city. Thus, expend on security better move in place of arts. To conclude, the government of developing countries must spend on transportation and building infrastructure as well as on citizens’ security rather than on arts. Hence it is agreed that the idea of spending money on public services rather than on arts is a better option.