Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

The importance of learning English is often emphasized in primary and secondary education, frequently at the expense of learning the mother tongue. Some people fear that the focus on English language proficiency may lead to local languages disappearing altogether. The role of English in today’s globalized world cannot be denied. In fact, English is used as a lingua franca in a wide range of fields, such as trade and commerce, business, IT, tourism, research and education. As young people need to be educated to perform effectively in our hyperconnected world, it is crucial they learn English well enough to achieve their personal and professional goals. Therefore, I believe English language education is essential and youngsters should be exposed to it from an early age on. However, the importance of national and even regional languages should not be ignored. Research has shown that people who are bilingual or multilingual can make better mental connections and are more adept at interacting with others. Moreover, it is a well-known fact that languages convey culture and, in turn, culture is expressed through language. I consider it vital to equip children with useful life skills and help them treasure the uniqueness of their own cultural heritage, which is why I am convinced the younger generation should continue to learn to speak, write and read in their local language. This can be achieved by making it a mandatory subject in schools and facilitating access to speakers of these languages through educational projects. In conclusion, although English plays a major role in many different realms in modern society and should be taught in schools, it is equally important to foster knowledge of the local language and culture. A balance must be struck, but I believe schools are very well capable of offering both subjects to their pupils so that these youngsters can benefit from the best of both worlds.