Some people think that as long as professional sportsmen and sportswomen are good players, their behaviour on and off the playing field is not importsnt. do you agree or disagree?

Due to rapid increase in the coverage of sports events, their popularity has risen multiple folds in the last decade. Some people perceive that their personal activities should not matter to anyone unless they are underforming at professional level. However, I completely disagree with this notion because of several reasons. This will essay will discuss various points to provide justification for my stance. Due to the extreme popularity and fan following of the sportsmen or sportswomen, many among the youth look upto them. Thus, these popular figures through their code of conduct play a vital role in shaping the minds of the youth. If these athletes showcase some vulgar activities, youth will follow it blindly because they are idolised. On the other hand, display of good messgaes like discipline and politeness may encourage their fans to develop that code of conduct. A good illustration of this is the fact that most fans of Lionel Messi became cautious about usage of illegal drugs and substances after his participation in an Anti-drug event two years ago. This clearly reflects that it is imperative for the athletes to be sensible with their actions and words as their actions do imply on huge number of people around the globe. Furthermore, ill behaviour or lack of respect may also lead to negative publicity of the athletes since they are popular figures for the masses. They often get extremely criticised for next days in the newspapers and social media. Irrespective of whether the criticism is valid or not, it does play a mind game with the athlete which can distract the focus and hinder their confidence. Take English footballer Ashley Cole as an example, the criticism in the newspapers about his extra marital affair prompted him to get retired in his mid 20's. Therefore, disgraceful behaviour on or off the pitch will start to impact their performances which may eventually jeopardize their career as well as popularity. To sum it up. it is imperious for athletes not just to perform well on the field but also to be cautious about their code of conduct. Firstly, their actions have an implication on their fans and also at the same time, they may get subjected to negative popularity which may mount pressure on them.