The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, thanks to the development of the economy and technology, consumer goods are massively manufactured. However, the synthesis of these products can bring negative impacts to the environment. The causes of this problem and corresponding solutions will be discussed below. One of the reasons for this issue is that people desire more and more merchandise, but green technology is not advanced enough. During recent decades, the wealth of people is significantly increasing, so people have more needs and wants in various products, such as computers and telephones. As a result, the supply must also soar to match the requests from the society. Meanwhile, there are still insufficient resources that can drastically reduce the pollution of the surroundings during manufacturing processes. For example, a great deal of sulfur dioxide will certainly be formed when a factory produces toys. Moreover, some non-degradable chemicals such as plastics can pose a threat to the Earth, because the combustion of these substances can create an enormous amount of hazardous gas. Eventually, the contamination and damage to the air and the land will be much more severe unless the production and consumption pattern changes. Based on that, a feasible solution to this problem is that we should develop environmentally friendly technology. As we know, it is highly unlikely to alter people's consumption patterns. Hence, we need to figure out some ways that can alleviate the damage to the environment. For instance, the use of hydropower for providing electricity to plants can lessen the demand for combusting fuels. Additionally, companies can start to apply degradable materials for disposable products. If straws are made of materials that can be degraded, they are not required to be burned in the landfill. In conclusion, the underdeveloped green technology and the surge in demand for goods are the main reasons for environmental pollution. To tackle this problem, we need to invent technology that can benefit the environment.