In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In the development of the modern era when people put effort to obtain success, most parents develop their strategy in parenting style and child-rearing. It is common in our society that children are often advised to put endeavour to reach what they want to achieve. It goes without saying the advice may have benefits and drawbacks. The elaboration will be discussed in this essay. Advising children to perform well to reach success is impactful to awaken their life force. There are two main advantages. First, children get used to having a fighting spirit and resilience for achieving their goals. They will tend to see the challenge as a new opportunity that is worth trying. The second reason, children will be familiar with making a plan to achieve certain goals. When they are familiar with the suggestion, they will try to determine certain strategies. However, there are two primary shortcomings when children keep obtaining that message. First, children may grow with high ambition. If the situation cannot be managed well, they will believe that the end justifies the mean by making harmful manners. Second, they may get depressed if they will easily get depressed if they are always pressured about how to achieve success. This condition, may not be good if parents do not assert to try as much as possible and still maintain physical and mental health. In a nutshell, motivating children to reach achievement is good but parents need to consider their children capacity. The advantages are awakening the fighting spirit and knowing the strategy to reach goals. Meanwhile, the disadvantages show that children may have too high ambition and get depressed with their expectations.