Some people think that it is the responsibility of governments to take care of the environment, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the citizens. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The world we live in continues to deteriorate at an unprecedented rate, yet we continue to exploit nature and cause more problems to the environment. Some people argue that the government has the utmost responsibility to resolve this, but others believe that all citizens should contribute to taking care the nature. I agree that all of us have to participate in maintaining nature. However, the greatest responsibility falls on the shoulder of our government. To begin with, major environmental issues such as pollution and greenhouse gasses emissions are attributed to humans activites. Air conditioning houses, car emissions, and good productions are to name a few factors contributing to environmental problems. Therefore, every citizen should take action to promote the health and safety of our surroundings such as using public transport or bikes to go to work or school instead of driving their cars. On the other hand, the government has much more authority and resources to reduce damage to nature that is caused by human hands. Providing good and sufficient public transport is pivotal to decreasing gas emissions from private cars. The government may also pass a law about nature preservation and give tax exemptions to citizens who regularly use public transport or electric cars/bikes. In addition, the government could take action on reducing the use of fossil fuels and changing it to greener energy resources such as solar or geothermal power. In conclusion, I believe that although all humans should contribute to safe nature, it is the government that has the greatest responsibility as they have the resources and authority to do more for the earth.